joyandfloraintheusa.reismee.nl

Thankful

This Thursday (28th of November), it is Thanksgiving. This is a typical American holiday. They celebrate where they’re thankful for. We’ll explain next week how we did this, but this week we want to let you know where we’re thankful for.

We’ll both wrote our separate thank you notes, and at the end we will write a little bit together. Have fun reading and try not to cry :p


Flora:

I’m thankful for a lot of people, so I already want to say sorry if I forget something! A lot has happened this year so it’s gonna be a long list.

First I want to thank all my friends at home that I still talk to, I was kinda scared that I was going to lose contact with a lot of them, but I realized that I still talk to all my real friends! I’m so happy that all of you supported me when I left, but that we’re already making so many fun plans for when I’m back. I can’t wait to see all of you at the airport of at my house as soon as I’m back so we can continue making a lot of fun memories!

The next thing I’m thankful for are the friends I made in New York! I’m so happy that I can always text all of you if I have any questions. I love our crazy snapchat group and I can’t wait until we all reunite in the Netherlands so we can finally party together!

My friends from home are not the only friends I’m thankful for! I also want to thank all my new friends that I made over here! You guys can’t even imagine how much y’all mean to me! Every single one of you is making this exchange year the best experience it can be! I’m so happy that I’m here and got the opportunity to meet all of you!

Another thank you goes to my family and family friends. Even though we’re not really close, I always enjoy our family occasions and get together. I know that all of you are supporting me during this crazy adventure. I’m excited to see all of you again in six months!

I’m also so thankful for Anna and Amy to take me into your house and treat me like I’m part of their family! I can’t even imagine how this year would be without the two of you! Not only Anna and Amy treat me like I’m a part of the family, so also a big thank you to the rest of the family. I love every single one of you!

Next I want to thank my two best friends in the whole world! Lotte and Fernando, you guys can’t even imagine how happy I’m going to be when I see the two of you again at the airport! I couldn’t wish for better friends, you two really feel like my own brother and sister!

My second last thank you goes to my sister, I couldn’t live without you and I love and miss you so much. I’m so happy that we became so close over the last few years (even though you hated me as a little kid lol) and I’m so excited to jump on your bed again, pause your series and just start talking to you! I miss how we would talk about everything together (I know we still do it on facetime but that’s different). I can’t wait to see you again so we can laugh, sing and cry together again.

The last and most important thank you is for my lovely parents. When I first told you that I wanted to do this, no one expected that I was actually going to do this. But from the moment I got serious about it you never did anything else than just support me. I’m so happy that both of you helped me with chasing my dream and never doubt me. I couldn’t have wished for better parents, you raised me to the girl I currently am and I’m so proud of the characteristics that I got from both of you! I can’t wait to see you again in May! I miss and love you so, so much!


Joy:

I am thankful for so many people. I don’t even know where to start!

I am thankful for all my friends from The Netherlands who still keep in touch with me and let me see that they still care. You guys have been there when I left and are still going to be there when I get back and that is so amazing and I am truly thankful for that.

I am thankful for the new friends I made here. Even though I am not staying forever, you still wanted to be friends with me and have made this year the best so far and we still have so much more to do! Can’t wait for what the rest of this year holds for us.

I am thankful for my boyfriends family who still keep in touch with me and give me nothing but love and support! I am so thankful to have you and I really see you as my own family. You have always taken me to family events and I loved every single one of them because they made me see what an amazing family you guys are and I am so happy to have you.

I am thankful for my family who have always supported me during this crazy adventure! It really means the world to see all the sweet comments on my blog and all the texts. I miss you guys a lot but I know I will see you in a few months standing on Schiphol to welcome me back! But first I am going to enjoy the rest of my amazing year here.

I am thankful for Linda who took me in her home and treated me like I am her own daughter since the second I got here. You have given me so much love over the past few months I have been here and really gave me a second home. I am thankful everyday when I wake up in my lovely room. I couldn’t have asked for a better host family! You are the best.

I am thankful for my boyfriend who has always been one of my biggest supporters. I always said that I wouldn't get a boyfriend before America but I am so happy I did. If I’m ever a little sad you will tell me that it will be alright and it always does. You still make me laugh even though I am on the other side of the world. You are truly my best friend and I don’t know what I would have done without you. Can’t wait to overload you with tons of kisses again xxx.

I am thankful for my (still little) sister. You would always just walk in my room and than we would talk and I appreciate those times so much more now. I know that we sometimes fight but you are really the best sis ever. Even though your living in MY room right now and riding on MY bike in MY coat, I still love you. I miss your silliness and your crazy ideas about owning a pig or something. Can’t wait to show you all the animals here in Mexico and have you here with me during my graduation!

My last and biggest thank you goes to my parents. You guys have always been my biggest supporters in this major decision and without you two I could have never done this. I am so thankful that you let me do this. You really made my dream come true, and that all because of my amazing parents. You have raised me to be the best version of myself and that I should always stand up for myself. I can’t thank you enough for that. I have learned so much from you over the years. You have seen me grow my whole life until the point that you had to let me go for a year. I know that it is hard but just know that I am truly having the time of my life and I cannot wait to have you guys with me here and show you all of Mexico, Missouri! Much love, your daughter.


Together:

We hope you enjoy reading this! We’re really thankful that Travel Active, Ayusa, Amy and Linda gave us the opportunity to be here together. We couldn’t have wished for a better place to live and a better friend to share this adventure with! Don’t worry about us being sad during the holidays, we’ll get through everything together!

Much love, Joy and Flora

Reacties

Reacties

evelien

wat een prachtig bericht weer meiden. jullie verdienen het om daar te zijn.
veel plezier nog en geniet van de feest dagen daar lekker veel eten ;-)

Ronald

What a Sweet story. Sorry but I tryed not to cry! ??

Brigitte

Oh my god What a great story you wrote. I’ll read It with a lot of tears in my eyes! I’m greatfull that you are my daughter and wish you a great time with Linda and your friends❤️❤️

Ilone Gerritsen

Wat ontzettend ontroerend en lief om te lezen, ik heb nu de link en ga alle verhalen nog even lezen, Joy je bent een topper, en flora ook natuurlijk, twee sterke meiden ❤️❤️

Jennifer

Natuurlijk, tranen in mijn ogen, daar ben ik moeder voor, maar ook dankbaar voor de mooie dochter en haar mooie verhalen over haar American Dream. DANK JE!! X mama

John

Flora, I'm very thankfull of you being part of my life. You are a wonderfull girl, love you

Ron de Rooij

Hi Joy,

Very beautiful words that you have written.

We should also introduce this in the Netherlands ... Are you taking it back from America?

greetings,

Ron

Lou en Elly

Ik heb wel even een traantje weg moeten pinken .
Heel lief ❤❤

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!